One Year to the Next

One year ago I was training to run races (a 5k and working my way up to a marathon) and writing a blog about what it was like to train/run as someone with Cystic Fibrosis. I was excited, doing well and my FEV1 (forced expiratory volume) at the time was 68%, which is pretty good. A healthy person is usually around 80% or higher.

This year I’m training to be able to walk down the street at a normal pace.

In the middle of my 5k training last year, I ended up with severe stomach pain at 5:00 in the morning, only to end up in emergency surgery a few hours later. Since then, I have gained one very large scar on my belly (which I’ve learned to be proud of instead of embarrassed) and lost A LOT of lung function. My FEV1 is now 28% and every doctors’ visit now includes talk of a lung transplant.

The decision to get a lung transplant is extremely personal and difficult with many factors that go into it. I, personally, am just absolutely not ready to go that route.

So now, instead of blogging about work-outs and diets, I’m blogging about learning how to start over, working my butt off to try to gain back lung function, praying for a miracle, and hopefully encouraging anyone out there who’s in a tough spot in life to just keep on going.

 

If you’re goin’ through hell, keep on going. Don’t slow down. If you’re scared don’t show it. You might get out before the devil even knows you’re there.

But the good news is there’s angels everywhere out on the street
Holdin’ out a hand to pull you back up on your feet
The one’s that you’ve been draggin’ for so long
You’re on your knees might as well be prayin’

Leave a Reply

