Hospitalization #213,749,023 Finished

I can say that I’m officially done with IVs (for the millionth time) as of yesterday!

I don’t know which is more exciting: Christmas morning or getting a picc line pulled (taken out). Ok, Christmas morning is definitely still more exciting, but getting a picc line pulled ranks pretty high up there. Anyone who has had one before knows the reason it’s so awesome is basically just that you can take a normal, two-armed shower again.

Yay for two-armed showers!

I’m even more excited to get rid of it this time around because I had A LOT of problems with it. I’ve probably had somewhere between 10-12 piccs before and never had any trouble with them up until now.

I’ll warn you to skip the next big paragraph if you’re even the tiniest bit squeamish. You’re fine to read on after that paragraph, you wimp.

First of all, I’ve never had any hospital put the dressing (tape that covers the little hole in your arm) straight over the insertion site. There’s usually something between the tape and site, so I was freaking out for days over this. Next, about a week after I was home on IVs, I started seeing blood from the insertion and my arm was a little bit tingly. I called my nurse and she told me I need to go to the ER to get checked for a blood clot. This pretty much freaked me out too, but I still made sure we stopped to get an ice cappuccino at Tim Hortons on the way to the ER 🙂 And lastly, my arm continued bleeding throughout the week so I texted my two nurse friends for the 100th time to make sure I wasn’t going to die. Thanks Linds and Holly!

Besides the picc line trouble, I had a fantastic hospital stay for once and an even better clinic visit after I was out of the hospital. The differences between this Pittsburgh clinic and the one I was at in Florida are just phenomenal.

  1. These nurses have gotten me prescriptions approved by my insurance within two days, when my nurse in Florida couldn’t get them for me in the last 9 months I asked.
  2. The nutritionist went out of her way to try to get other meds covered for me by insurance and followed up with me just because she cared.
  3. And best of all, the entire team of CF doctors said they only want a transplant to be a plan B for me. They want to help me save my lungs and believe that I actually can, whereas my doctors in Florida pretty much left a transplant as my only option.

So now that I’m done with IVs, my plan of action to gain back some lung function is breathing treatments 4 times a day (2 hours) and treadmill-ing it up (or yoga) for 2 hours a day while catching up on Homeland and Dexter. Say some prayers.

Leave a Reply

