Lungs Are on Their Way

I just received the phone call today that I’ve been accepted to UPMC’s lung transplant program! I’m ready to go.

I was accepted after a looong four whole days of testing and appointments last week for my evaluation.

First, let me show you this picture of this extremely hilarious toilet that is the size of 6 normal ones combined. My mom and I ran into this at the hospital and just about died laughing. I felt as though I needed to share it with you all.
toiletAnyway…

Luckily I received some extremely reassuring news about the whole transplant ordeal after talking with my doctor and meeting my surgeon.

The entire reason I was trying so desperately to save my own lungs and hold off on the transplant was because everyone kept telling me that the life expectancy after a lung transplant was 5-10 years.

Who on earth wants to even imagine living for only 5 more years? Especially when you’re just 27 and have so much still ahead of you.

Well, the GREAT news is the doctors reassured me that those numbers are so low because the stats take into account all lung transplants, not just CF patients. So that means a lot of these people are actually older with COPD, emphesyma or just generally unhealthy people.

However, they told me that CFers have a tendency to lean toward 10-15 years with their new lungs and on top of that, most are able to do a second or even third transplant for a longer life expectancy.

I am TOTALLY ok with that. Of course there’s no way to predict what’s going to happen, but just knowing there’s a very good chance that I can still have a long life, get married, have a family and hopefully have a little one running around someday, I feel a whole lot better about this entire thing.

At this point I have a few more tests and things I need to get together for my transplant evaluation, but then I should be listed at the beginning of January.

I just pray I get some new lungs fast because I just have so many plans going through my head of things I want to do. The first one being running my first race, which I’ve been trying to do for the longest time now.

2014 should be a very good year 🙂

I was watching Evan Almighty while I was writing part of this blog post and there was a quote that I found very fitting to end with:

“If someone prays for patience, you think God gives them patience? Or does he give them the opportunity to be patient? If he prayed for courage, does God give him courage, or does he give him opportunities to be courageous? If someone prayed for the family to be closer, do you think God zaps them with warm fuzzy feelings, or does he give them opportunities to love each other?”

I think God is giving me the opportunity to do some very big things through all of this.

2 thoughts on “Lungs Are on Their Way

Leave a Reply

