Alive and Well

I should be dead right now.

The mere fact that I’m alive is a miracle on so many levels. Unlike my last blog post, I’m not even talking about the fact that I survived my surgery and all of its complications. I’m talking about how our government fails those who truly need its help the most.

Not Ranting

Don’t worry. I’m not going to go on a “welfare rant” or, in my case, a “disability rant”. I just want to make the point of how blessed and lucky I am that my life situation has been able to give me a big hug of rainbows.

Initially being denied (and currently still not receiving a dime of) government assistance throughout this entire ordeal, if it weren’t for my parents, I would honestly be dead right now and already turned into ash art (It’s in my Will to be turned into rainbow ash art if you missed that blog entry).

If I didn’t have my parents:

  • I wouldn’t have had insurance through their company to cover my double lung transplant, all the complications or medications which cost over 2 million dollars. That’s right, I’m one pricey date.
  • I was denied disability from the government the first time around so I would be homeless, not being able to afford rent.
  • I haven’t been able to work for the past year, so I wouldn’t be able to afford groceries or medications.
  • I probably would have had my car taken away because there would be no help to make my car payments. I never would have made it to any of my doctors appointments.
  • I wouldn’t be able to afford my phone or internet to keep in touch with my transplant coordinators on a weekly basis.
  • I would have nothing.

How is our system so screwed up? Of course,we could all go on and on in a furious rage talking about how messed up the welfare/disability/medicare/medicaid system is, but instead I’m just truly thankful that I have the parents that I do (and I’m not just saying that because they read my blog), but there is no way on Earth that I would still be alive without them.

Each day is a blessing and every single breath is a gift. Sometimes it’s hard to keep that perspective on life when we have so much going on but we need to do our best to remember that.

For the longest time I always asked myself “Why me?,” “Why do I have CF?”. Although I may not have the exact reason for it, I realize that my situation has opened a door for me to tell my story and encourage people to live their own lives to their fullest and I love that. Even if my story can remind one person to be thankful for the breaths they take, then I’m happy.

So here’s your reminder to never take your days for granted 🙂

Leave a Reply

