Live It Up

I wish there were words in the world expressive enough to explain to people how important it is not to waste your life away at work.I say this with the best intentions for everyone and just wanted to write a post about this topic because I keep being reminded of it.

First from my dad coming to visit for a weekend and being so brain dead from over-working himself that he actually said “Huh, that’s a weird spot for that tiny little parking lot.” Only for me to reply “Uhhhhhh. That’s the road and we’re at a red light.” (Sorry, love ya Lar). And again I was reminded tonight when my friend had to cancel plans because she felt that she needed to work overtime to catch up on some work.

Although that’s somewhat of a plus for me, because now I don’t have to put pants on tonight, I just wish I could get the point across to people that you only have one life to live and though it’s extremely important to work hard, it’s probably even more important to play hard.

Take this advice from someone who almost lost her life and truly realized how precious time is and how important it is to take time to laugh and live.

Screen Shot 2014-12-02 at 7.40.30 PM

I’ve worked extremely hard in my life –  always being an A student, finishing my undergrad with a major, minor and a certificate in 4 years even with all the hospitalizations I went through, going to grad school, and working since I was about 12 years old.

I get it. Work is important.

But once I got so sick to the point I couldn’t even walk across the room, trust me, the last thing I was thinking was “Wow, I wish I could be spending just a little bit more of my time working.”

No.

All I thought about was all the things I wanted to do in life that I hadn’t had the chance to do yet and I was terrified that I would never get the chance to do them.

I thought I would never see Australia or the northern lights or play with baby panda bears, but now that I’ve been given the gift of life through my transplant I get a chance to do all those things. And I wouldn’t trade any of that just to spend another day at a computer chugging down coffee to stay awake no matter how much I love my job and the people I work with.

Just food for thought, people. Just food for thought.

One thought on “Live It Up

  1. Love your post…as I lay in bed trying to put myself to sleep by reading FB, all so I can get up to be at work earlier than usual. In this case, 4:30 am, which means leaving home at 3:30. That said, seeing the Aurora Borealus has been a lifelong dream. Whether from an ice hotel in northern Norway or from a geothermal hot spring in Iceland…gotta go. In the mean time, I count myself truly blessed being fortunate to accompany your awesome parents to Vietnam for a 6th time. Praying for you. God bless. Hope you get to see the lights.

Leave a Reply

